Product review: Skinceuticals A.G.E. Eye Complex and A.G.E. Interrupter

This video explains how the products reverse signs of aging caused by glycation in the skin.  I bought my products from Viva Day Spa as a recommendation for a night cream by an aesthetician.  I’ve used Skinceuaticals products for over 10 years and have noticed the benefits of using their antioxidant serums to give my skin a healthy glow and protect my face and neck when I’m exercising outside.  So I trust the company and it’s products.  I know they work for me if I  use them regularly.  From the list of ingredients, it looks like Proxylane is the super-star key contributor in that it stimulates the synthesis of the GAGs (glycosaminoglycans) which are “the essential molecules responsible for holding water and nutrients in the skin, increases skin elasticity and thickness, stimulates collagen synthesis, and boosts skin moisture levels.”

The creams are pricey, but a little goes a long way and just a pea-size of the product will cover your face and upper neck.  I also cover my decollate, so use a bit more.  It”s not greasy and get’s absorbed right away.  If my skin seems more dehydrated than normal, I put another cream or oil on top for extra emollience.  I haven’t really noticed the decrease of under-eye circles from the eye cream, but they are stubborn and hereditary.

I wanted to review this product because as I enter my mid-40’s, I’m curious about preventing further skin damage and didn’t really understand the glycation process.  According to Kris Campbell in the November 2013 issue of Skin Inc. magazine, “if there is too much sugar in the body, protein molecules can cross-link with sugar molecules.  Once this cross-linking process has occurred, the new sugar proteins are called advanced glycation end products (AGEs). The human body does not recognize AGEs as normal, and will produce antibodies that cause inflammation in the skin.”  She writes, that when AGE’s are formed, they attack the collagen and elastin in the dermal layer of the skin, compromising the skin’s structure.  Wrinkling and sagging; weakened elastin and collagen; and a reduced ability for skin to quickly rehabilitate are the result.  This cellular turnover slow-down presents as a hollowed-out appearance due to fat redistribution.

Scary thing is, she says that “the more sugar you eat, whether processed or natural, the more AGEs are produced”.  Yikes! It’s hard enough to not eat that cookie, but the point is to not overload on carbs.  Truthfully, I won’t know if this product really works until I can say that I don’t need injectable fillers to replace future volume loss.  In the meantime, I’ll rely on products to age luminously.

Leave a Reply

